Cooking with Roses and Tears

2 Jul

“Lo malo de llorar cuando uno pica la cebolla no es el simple hecho de llorar, sino que a veces uno empieza y ya no puede parar”

“The trouble with crying over an onion is that once the chopping gets you started and the tears begin to well up, the next thing you know you just can’t stop” 

I decided to stick mainly with movies from the 1990’s- and wow, what a choice. I picked “Como Agua Para Chocolate” (Like Water for Chocolate) somewhat randomly and during the film I couldn’t help but ask myself: WHY have I not watched this before?

The plot revolves around Tita, a daughter who cannot marry or have children because she must take care of her mother until the time of her death.  Tita inevitably falls in love with a man named Pedro, but he is forbidden to marry her and instead marries Tita’s sister to remain close to Tita, his true love.

“Como Agua Para Chocolate”  is beautiful, eloquent, and, most importantly, filled with traditional cooking.  Throughout the movie, Tita’s cooking is a direct representation of her emotions. Her cooking is purely passionate. It is a means to funnel her frustrations, her tears, and her love of Pedro into food.

I always remember my mom, my aunts, and especially my great-grandmother cooking like this. It’s all about the emotion. These women truly cared about their cooking and cherished the moments when the family would talk and laugh over a home-cooked meal.

My mother has a recipe book, but solely uses it for special occasions. To be honest, she doesn’t need it. She cooks with her heart and soul.

Overall, I have to say I’m a little jealous of my mother’s (and Tita’s) cooking skills, but I am also motivated to start cooking Mexican food on my own! Thanks to Tita for her ability to cook with roses and tears, and make it oh, so good.

Here are the following inspired dishes of the week:
1. Limonada Fresca
2. Caldo de Res
3. Chiles Rellenos

Stay tuned…

2 Responses to “Cooking with Roses and Tears”

  1. salsachica April 18, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I read this a very long time ago, really enjoyed the movie too, but the book made me tear up more.

    • movieandamexican April 19, 2012 at 1:38 am #

      Thanks for reading! And I completely agree about the book. I got very teary-eyed as well.

      — Nicole

Leave a Reply

