Chiles Rellenos

12 Jul

These recipes are intended to bring my Mexican culture back to life. And this recipe certainly did the trick. If cooking this doesn’t, then I’m not sure what will.

During one of the last scenes in Como Agua Para Chocolate, you see multiple women preparing a dish called Chiles en Nogada. The dish I have prepared is similar, but less complicated. In order to keep the recipe simple (and as close to the movie as possible), I chose to make some Chiles Rellenos. Perhaps when I find the right ingredients (and when I’m a more experienced cook!) will I choose to make some Chiles en Nogada.

For this notorious recipe you will need the following ingredients:

  1. Chiles Poblanos or Anaheims (6)
  2. Monterrey Jack Cheese (not shredded)
  3. 1 white/yellow onion
  4. 2 cloves of garlic
  5. 2 tomatoes
  6. Cilantro
  7. 3-4 eggs
  8. Cumin
  9. El Pato sauce
  10. Oregano
  11. 1-2 Jalapeños
  12. Chicken Broth
  13. Toothpicks
First, I used both chiles poblanos and anaheims- just to see what the difference in taste was like. I personally preferred the poblanos, because they were much easier to stuff and because they taste spicier.
Chiles Anaheims and Chiles Poblanos
On the left are the Anaheims and on the right are the Poblanos. Turn on your broiler, place your chiles on a cookie sheet, and slide them into the oven. Try to leave the door open so that you can hear them crackling. It doesn’t take long for these to burn, so if you can’t keep your oven door open (like me!) then make sure to check often- literally almost every 10 seconds.
Here’s how they should turn out:
Turn them over and repeat. Once both sides look the same, take your chiles and place them in a plastic bag. Leave them in the bag for a few minutes in order to cool off (any plastic bag will do).
While you’re waiting, cut your onion in half. Then place the onion, tomato, garlic cloves, and jalapeño in a pot with water.
Bring the water to a boil and wait until the skin on the tomatoes becomes soft and wrinkly. Then drain the water, take the jalapeño and cut the stem off. Place the tomatoes, garlic cloves, and jalapeño in a blender with a little water (1/2 liter).
Also add: a little cumin, oregano, 1/4 can of El Pato sauce, cilantro, and a little chicken broth.
Blend! Leave the sauce in the blender. You’ll return to it later.
Now, take your chiles out of the bag. Be careful! They are very soft and can rip if you’re harsh with them. Gently peel the outer skin of the chile.

Once you’ve peeled off the skin,  make a small incision (don’t make it too deep because you will cut through the entire chile) from the tip of the stem ALMOST to the bottom of the chile.
As you can see, the chiles are filled with seeds. If you want your chiles to be extra hot, leave them in. If not, take the seeds out and wash the inside of the chile with cold water.
Cut up chunks of monterrey jack cheese (try to guess the size according to the size of the chile) and place them inside the chile.
Chiles Rellenos
Once inside, close the chile and put toothpicks through in order to fully close it.
You have to make a batter to fry the chiles with. Take 3-4 eggs and separate the yolk and egg whites.
I had to beat the egg whites by hand. I would HIGHLY suggest doing it with a mixer- this recipe is too exhausting already. Once you’re egg whites form into peaks, take the egg yolks and mix that in as well. Dip the chiles into the batter and cover them fully.
Then (almost done!), put oil in a pan and fry your chiles at a medium-high heat.
Finally, put a little oil in a pot and let it warm up. Then pour the sauce from the blender into it, let it boil, then simmer. You can use this sauce to warm up your chiles if you choose to freeze them. Just place them directly in the pot with the sauce and warm them up!
Mine weren’t frozen, so I just poured the sauce over my chile and it was ready. AT LAST.
My first bite was simply paradise. Que rico.
This dish left me mentally and physically exhausted. I was sweating in my little apartment with no AC, running around cutting, mixing, stuffing, frying, and oh yea, cleaning a mountain of dishes afterward.
It took me 1.5 hours to cook this. Cooking is hard work, no doubt about it. And Mexican cooking- well, after this recipe, it’s clearly so much more than that.
4 Responses to “Chiles Rellenos”

  1. Yue Huang July 25, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Yummmm these look so good. I’ll have to try it sometime. I’m impressed that you made these in your room w/o AC

    • movieandamexican July 25, 2011 at 6:54 am #

      Thanks! And I surprise myself sometimes- I was sweating so much in my little kitchen!

  2. Lesley July 19, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    Oh man. Love, love chiles rellenos. I just took a class on them a few days ago and I finally figured out how to make the perfect capeado (the fluffy egg batter). You basically dip in the chile, put it in the pan with hot oil, and then add a spoonful of egg batter on top, so the whole thing is covered! I always thought adding extra egg batter after the fact was cheating, but it’s not. (Whew.) Mexican cooking does take a lot of time, but it’s so worth it in the end.

    • movieandamexican July 19, 2011 at 6:29 am #

      Hi Lesley,

      Thanks for the tip! I always thought dipping it in after was cheating as well. I wanted to try and stay as traditional as possible- I’m making some Chiles en Nogada in the fall, will definitely dip the batter in after.

      Thanks for commenting and keep reading,

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

