La Ley de Herodes (Herod’s Law)

22 Aug

“¡El Que No Tranza, No Avanza!”

“He Who Doesn’t Scheme, Doesn’t Get Ahead!”

As a former political science major, I expected this movie to be right up my alley. A political satire of the infamous Mexican PRI party? Count me in. I’m fascinated already. But, very unexpectedly, I found myself yawning a little- was I bored? I guess that’s why I’m a former political science major.

Don’t get me wrong, there were a few surprises here and there and some politically subtle scenes that really made the movie flow naturally. Those moments, however, were simply too few. Here is one that really makes the movie sing:

La Ley de Herodes (Herod’s Law) revolves around a simpleton named Juan Vargas. He is exceedingly (if not stupidly) loyal to his party and country. As an election comes up, the regional party leader chooses to give Vargas the post. With a catch, of course. Vargas arrives in San Pedro— a small town without a school, food, or resources, and filled with frustrated citizens (some who cannot even speak Spanish), a greedy priest, and a helpful gringo.

The most interesting, and unfortunately predictable, part of La Ley de Herodes (Herod’s Law) was Juan Vargas’ transformation. Like the formerly murdered mayors, would he too take and give bribes? Would he murder and steal? Would he abuse his citizens? And most importantly, would he get out of there alive without  damaging the reputation of his powerful party? Watch and find out. Before watching though, you might want to look up some Mexican political history. Even I needed a refresher.

Simpleton Vargas, his simple wife, and his simple town certainly inspired me to cook. The food in La Ley de Herodes (Herod’s Law) consisted mainly of beans, rice, tortillas, some peppers, and tomato sauce. Fairly typical and I have the perfect recipe for it. Coming soon…

Need a little more info to get you into the movie? Take a look at a full review.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

